You are not logged in.

Getting the best from the Brewzilla 3.1 (35l) ?????

• GeoffN
  • GeoffN's Avatar Topic Author
More
3 years 4 months ago #5088 by GeoffN
Hi All (from Stockport in the UK),
I’m new to this forum, but I’ve been brewing (with varying degrees of success) for >40 years, so I’m reasonably familiar with the basics.
Earlier this year I decided to upgrade my kit to something with better/easier temperature control, and convenience. So, I bought a Robobrew Brewzilla 3.1 (35l UK model). So far I’ve brewed 6 batches of various beers, e.g. US style IPAs, a Porter, a Belgian Pale Ale, a Weizen and most recently a traditional English Bitter. All of the beers have turned out well, BUT I have struggled to get the measure of the ‘machine’. I blocked the pump once whilst mashing the Porter, but managed to work my way around the problem, and complete the brew. This was my own fault because I allowed some of the grist to flow down the central tube. I now put an upturned stainless steel teapot strainer/ sieve over the top of the pipe to prevent any stray grist from getting to the pump.
However, the ongoing problem has been the very slow circulation of the wort during the mash. This means that I have to watch it constantly and turn the pump on and off to prevent too much wort building up on top of the grain bed, which can eventually starve the pump. It also starts cooling down so the mash temperature drops – not exactly the easy and convenient level of control and automation I was hoping for :-(
I normally mash-in with between 16 and 18l of water, depending on the quantity of grist in the recipe. I’ve tried mashing with and without the second malt tube screen, and also with and without rice hulls (nominally ~200g in a 23l batch). The inclusion of rice hulls improved things a bit, but the flow of the wort through the grain bed during mashing was still very slow.