You are not logged in.

False bottom

• Bacchus
  • Topic Author
More
4 years 10 months ago #3987 by Bacchus
False bottom was created by Bacchus
Hi guys, Just want pick peoples brains for a moment. At the moment my equipment is a bit Heath Robinson, although i've got hold of four 11 gallon kegs, two of which will be converted into a HLT / Boiler and a mash tun. However, at the moment I have to use what I have, but have no FB in my mash tun. I play the drums and have 2 kits, both of which came with cheap nasty brass cymbals which I have never used as I have my Paiste cymbals. My question is, Can I use one of these cymbals to convert into a FB or can the brass impart strange or odd metallic flavours into the wort?
Cheers guys for any help.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 years 10 months ago #3989 by Gash
Replied by Gash on topic False bottom
hmm thats an interesting question... one I havent heard... I'd guess you'd want to make sure it was lead free brass,,, I have some info some where about that sort of stuff.. I'll be back!

More
4 years 10 months ago #3990 by Gash
I used brass fittings for a long time, just unsure about cymbals, but saying that its probably better quality brass then the cheap taps i used lol.. guess you could try pickling it and see what happens?

howtobrew.com/book/appendices/appendix-b/brewing-metallurgy

homedistiller.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=...pic.php?f=33&t=20910

• Bacchus
  • Topic Author
More
4 years 10 months ago #3994 by Bacchus
Replied by Bacchus on topic False bottom